About Us

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Doña Ana County is the second largest county in the state of New Mexico. With a population of more than 219,500 residents, the County comprises 3,814 square miles, bordering El Paso County in Texas, Luna and Otero Counties in New Mexico and the state of Chihuahua, in Mexico. It is home to the Cities of Anthony, Las Cruces and Sunland Park; the Town of Mesilla and the Village of Hatch.

Our agricultural community has a significant place in Doña Ana County, making us a leading producer of chile peppers, onions and pecans. We are also home to the New Mexico State University and Doña Ana Community College. 

The Mesilla Valley, the Organ Mountains Desert Peaks National Monument and the White Sands National Monument are some of our historic points of interest. Doña Ana County's history is intertwined with the U.S. Army's, which built forts throughout the nation's border with Mexico, enabling many settlements, ranches, mining camps and homestead to flourish and helped shape our landscape.

What's in a name?

Doña Ana County is one of only two counties in the United States to have a diacritical mark in its name; the other is Coös County, New Hampshire. Both counties lie on short international borders. Doña Ana with Mexico and Coös with Canada.